Gwen and Hyatt 4

EXT. FOREST. AFTERNOON.

Gwen sits on the ground, leaning against a tree. She looks tired, her lips cracked slightly. Dehydrated.

GWEN

We didn’t find him.

HYATT

(Behind the camera)

Are you talking to me?

GWEN

No, the camera.

HYATT

Jesus, Gwen, really? Now?

GWEN

Look, it doesn’t have much battery left, and I just want to have something to mark…now.

HYATT

Whatever. Look, I still think we can find–

GWEN

(Cutting in)

Dad? I don’t know where he is. You don’t know where he is. We have no way of finding him or getting in touch with him. We’re not going to find him.

HYATT

I was going to say that we can find our way out of the forest.

Beat.

GWEN

Oh.

HYATT

I mean it’s a long shot, but…

GWEN

Why risk it, then, when there’s a house right over there?

HYATT

Because I don’t really like the idea of breaking into somebody’s house. What if they have a shotgun or a hunting rifle and shoot us for trespassing? What if there are animal traps when we get closer, and one of us steps in one?

GWEN

It’s a best option, though. We’re pretty much out of food and water. I’m not sure we’ll get out fast enough, even if we keep walking straight. I mean, we walked pretty far, and I have no idea which direction we were walking in. This is a huge forest. We could be thirty, forty miles in, for all I know, and then we’re definitely not surviving a walk back.

Beat.

HYATT

Do you really think we should go in?

GWEN

Yes. I’d really rather not die of starvation in the middle of this goddamn forest.

HYATT

Then I’ll go check it out and come get you if it seems safe.

Gwen stands, turning the camera to face him.

GWEN

No way.

HYATT

It’s the best idea.

GWEN

The best idea is for us to stick together. If you get lost before you get back, I’m fucked.

HYATT

I’m not going to get lost.

GWEN

Yeah, well, you shouldn’t have fucking gotten us lost in the first time.

Beat. He looks devastated.

GWEN

Shit, I’m sorry. That wasn’t fair.

HYATT

No, you’re right. Let’s go. I don’t want to have to waste any more time than we have to out here.

Leave a comment