Gwen and Hyatt 1

EXT. FOREST. AFTERNOON.

Handheld camera held by a teenage girl, black, short hair and striking cheekbones, facing her. There is a guy in the background who looks like her with a broader face and even shorter hair. Twins.

GWEN

Apparently my phone won’t work out here but the auto-upload button on this camera will, so for the next week, this will be my only connection to civilization.

HYATT

I’m civilization.

Gwen turns the camera on Hyatt.

GWEN

This is my brother Hyatt. Or, as he likes to be known, civilization.

HYATT

Shut up.

GWEN

Where’s Dad?

HYATT

Hell if I know.

The camera turns back to Gwen.

GWEN

I’m Gwen, by the way. Gwennyfer. Don’t ask. My dad–

HYATT

Our dad.

GWEN

Our dad is around here somewhere. For some reason that I still don’t understand, we’re going camping. Just me and Hyatt and Dad. Carla–our step-mom–is staying home. She doesn’t… do camping. Not that I really do camping. But whatever. I can survive in the forest for a few days.

HYATT

Even without your precious Tumblr?

GWEN

Shut up.

HYATT

Your OTPs going to survive without you?

GWEN

I don’t–shut up.

HYATT

You don’t shut up.

GWEN

Hyatt. Seriously. We’re going to be stuck out here with each other for too freaking long for you to be being this much of a dick already.

HYATT

It’s going to be like a week. And we live together.

GWEN

Yeah, but we don’t spend every waking moment together.

HYATT

Feels like it.

GWEN

Hardly.

HYATT

Go back to whining about camping.

GWEN

You go back to…being quiet.

HYATT

Nice comeback. Really snappy.

GWEN

Gah. Damn it. This is going to get really old, really fast.

HYATT

It’s camping. Not water-boarding. You’ll survive.

GWEN

I know. But seriously. Why are we doing this?

HYATT

Because Dad said so.

GWEN

Since when do you do everything that Dad does?

HYATT

Since he controls things like paying for our college.

GWEN

I’m getting a scholarship.

HYATT

Is it a full scholarship? No. So…yeah. Like I said.

GWEN

It’s not like he wouldn’t pay for our college if we didn’t go camping with him.

HYATT

I’m just trying to not piss him off.

GWEN

Whatever. This is still stupid.

HYATT

It’ll be a lot worse if you whine about it the entire time.

GWEN

I thought you told me to go back to whining about camping.

HYATT

Goddamn it, Gwen. I’m going to go…stare at trees or something. I’ll be back.

Camera points at Hyatt as he walks away.

GWEN

(Calling)

Don’t get lost.

HYATT

(Calling)

Screw you.

Camera turns back to Gwen.

GWEN

Well, this is going to be fun.

Leave a comment